The Dull 4-Poster
Ordnance Survey Map Reference NN803487
The circle looking SW
The circle looking east
The B846 runs below the village of Dull, and this site lies in a field to the south of the road just 50m west of the second road leading up to Dull. Marked on OS maps as a circle, (also referred to as Carse Farm) it is in fact a charming little 4-poster. It lies on an axis from the cup-marked rock in the fields beside Dull and the chapel therein (see The Stones at Dull) for those with a taste for the bizarre. Strangely enough, however, the only stone of the 4 which carries any markings is that in the NE corner, (on the bearing from the chapel and cup-marked rock), the top of which is covered in cupmarks! Isn't that spooky... ?
Just to the south of here the OS Map confidently announces another circle (remains of) at NN 806487. Don't be fooled, there is only one stone here: see below. As the field was full of cows, we didn't bother getting any closer to it either...
Canmore mentions that there are 17 cup marks on the NE stone, and 3 on the SE, which we didn't notice. Burl correctly identifies this as a four-poster, and suggests it is datable to around 2150 - 1800 BCE. Canmore also states that excavation revealed a pit against the inner face of the NE stone, filled with compacted cremated bone, black earth and charcoal, as well as a collared urn with incised geometric ornamentation.
The cup-marks on the north-east stone
The stone looking SSW